St. Patrick’s Day in Québec City

March 15, 2018 -
Le coffre aux trésors d'Hôtel Château Laurier Québec

This is the time of year when Québec City—like all major Western cities—is be adorned with green, covered in clovers, and pulsing to the beat of an Irish jig!

Here are some suggestions to help you make the most of St. Patrick’s celebrations during your stay. But first, we’d love to tell you more about the Irish community in Québec City!

Celtic Heritage

Although French is the most widely spoken language in Québec City, not all the city’s residents have French roots—a large part of the population also has Irish ancestry.

In the 19th century, countless ships full of Irish immigrants fleeing famine set sail for North America. Some 600,000 Irish immigrants landed in Québec City. While most made their way to Montreal or the U.S., many of them settled here, integrating peaceably with the city’s inhabitants. By 1861, Irish residents even made up the majority of the population in certain areas of town, such as Sillery.

Irish immigrants played a key role in the development of Québec City. Their descendants opened stores; became involved in unions, the press, and politics; started professional practices; and distinguished themselves in sport. They were particularly known for being skilled horse breeders.

Did you know?

We owe a debt of thanks to an Irishman for the fact that the famous fortifications around Québec City are still standing! During his time as Governor General of Canada from 1872 to 1878, Lord Dufferin—whose real name was Frederick Temple Blackwood—intervened to stop the old city gates and walls from being demolished because others felt they were standing in the way of progress. Thankfully Lord Dufferin saw their value!

Irish culture is alive and well in Québec City.

Fantastic Irish Fare

To celebrate the green isle of Erin (Ireland’s old Celtic name), head to one of the city’s Irish pubs for a pint of beer and some speciality fare, such as Irish stew. Live Celtic folk bands will have you tapping your feet all night to jigs and reels.

Many other venues have organized special St. Patrick’s Day activities. Griendel craft brewery, located at 195 rue Saint-Vallier Ouest, is hosting a special whiskey tasting, complete with British cheese pairings, and Pub Saint-Alexandre, located at 1087 rue Saint-Jean, has cooked up several musical evenings to mark the occasion.

While you’re exploring the city, don’t forget to stop by Artillery Park to admire the large Celtic cross. This 14-metre-high blue limestone cross proudly commemorates Québec City’s Irish heritage. Ask our Concierge to show you where it is on a map.

The Parade

The highlight of the festivities is of course the St. Patrick’s Day Parade, now in its 9th year! Around 1,000 participants wear bright green scarves, hats, and glasses and parade through town, attracting about 50,000 spectators every year.

Did you know?

The very first parade in honour of the patron saint of Ireland took place in Québec City in 1837. The parade was held every year, almost without interruption, until 1926. In 2010, after an 84-year hiatus, the Québec City St. Patrick’s Day parade came marching back.

The parade will take place on Saturday, March 24, 2018, at 2 p.m. It’s held a week after the official date, so that many of the participating groups have the opportunity to parade in their home cities first. Several famous drum and bagpipe bands will liven up the festivities, such as the Pipes & Drums of the Emerald Society of the New York City Police Department, as well as Celtic dance troupes, circus performers, historical interpreters, and even a leprechaun or two!

Source: Québec City’s official St. Patrick’s Day website, http://saintpatrickquebec.com/en/external link

Please note the parade route runs along Grande Allée, right past Hôtel Château Laurier Québec.

A Day Trip

Tourist season hasn’t started yet, but all this immersion in Irish culture might make you want to take a trip to Grosse-Île during your next stay in the region. Grosse-Île is part of the Isle-aux-Grues archipelago and was used as a quarantine station for many years, particularly during the height of Irish immigration. Tens of thousands of immigrants passed through the island.

Parks Canada now manages the site and offers guided tours of the lazaret (quarantine station), the Irish cemetery, the 15-metre-high Celtic cross, and the memorial. It’s about a 50-minute drive from Quebec City to fetch to the ferry to the island.

Ferries will be in operation from May 2 to October 8, 2018.

Learn more:

Au rythme de la Saint-Patrick à Québec

15 mars 2018 -
Le coffre aux trésors d'Hôtel Château Laurier Québec

Dans quelques jours, comme dans toutes le grandes cités occidentales, la ville de Québec se parera de vert, se couvrira de trèfles et vibrera au son de la gigue irlandaise!

Pour vous aider à profiter pleinement de la fête de la Saint-Patrickexternal link, voici quelques suggestions d’activités dans la Vieille Capitale. Mais avant, vous aimeriez mieux connaître la communauté irlandaise de Québec?

Un héritage celtique

Même si la langue la plus parlée à Québec est le français, les habitants de la région ne sont pas uniquement des descendants de souches francophones : une grande partie de la population a aussi des ancêtres irlandais.

Au 19e siècle, chassés par la famine qui accablait leur terre natale, d’innombrables navires remplis d’immigrants irlandais ont mis le cap vers l’Amérique. On estime qu’environ 600 000 irlandais sont entrés au Québec… Si plusieurs ont repris la route vers Montréal ou les États-Unis, une part importante s’est installée ici, s’intégrant parfaitement aux habitants de la ville. En 1861, ils forment même la majorité de la population de certains secteurs de notre ville, dont Sillery.

Les irlandais de Québec participeront pleinement au développement de la ville. Leurs descendants ouvrent des commerces, s’impliquent dans les syndicats, la presse et la politique, exercent des professions libérales, s’illustrent dans le sport… Ils étaient notamment renommés pour leurs élevages de chevaux.

Le saviez-vous?

C’est à un Irlandais qu’on doit la présence, encore aujourd’hui, des célèbres fortifications de Québec. Alors qu’il était gouverneur-général du Canada entre 1872 et 1878, lord Dufferin (de son vrai nom Frederick Temple Blackwood) est intervenu pour éviter la démolition des portes et des murs fortifiés, alors considérés comme des entraves au progrès! Heureusement qu’il s’en est soucié!

L’héritage irlandais est donc bien vivant à Québec.

Nourrir la fibre irlandaise

Pour célébrer dignement la culture de la verte Erin (l’ancienne désignation celte de l’Irlande), rendez-vous dans l’un des pubs pour déguster une pinte de bière accompagnée de quelques spécialités. Une part d’irish stew, peut-être? Des prestations de groupes folks celtiques égaieront irrésistiblement votre passage.

Plusieurs autres lieux proposent des activités spéciales pour la Saint-Patrick. Par exemple, le Griendel Brasserie Artisanale, au 195 rue Saint-Vallier Ouest, organise une dégustation spéciale de scotchs avec accords de fromages britanniques, tandis que le Pub Saint-Alexandre, au 1087 rue Saint-Jean, a concocté plusieurs soirées musicales pour l’occasion.

En déambulant dans la ville, ne manquez pas de passer par le Parc de l’Artillerie afin  d’admirer la grande croix celtique. Cette structure de calcaire bleu de 14 mètres de haut commémore fièrement l’héritage irlandais à Québec. Demandez à notre Concierge de vous indiquer la localisation sur une carte.

Le défilé

Le point culminant des festivités est bien entendu le grand défilé de la Saint-Patrick, qui en est à sa 9e édition cette année! Regroupant plus de 1000 participants arborant écharpes, chapeaux ou lunettes d’un beau vert vif, il attire environ 50 000 visiteurs.

Le saviez-vous?

À Québec, le tout premier défilé en l’honneur du saint patron des Irlandais a eu lieu en 1837. Il s’est tenu tous les ans, presque sans interruption, jusqu’en 1926. C’est en 2010, après 84 ans d’absence, qu’on a remis sur pied le défilé de la Saint-Patrick dans la Vieille Capitale.

Cette année, le défilé aura lieu le samedi 24 mars 2018 dès 14h, une semaine après la date officielle, afin d’avoir la participation de différents partenaires.  Une ambiance joyeuse sera assurée par la présence de plusieurs groupes ou ensembles de percussions et cornemuses réputés, dont le «Pipes & Drums Of The Emerald Society of the New York City Police Department», mais aussi par des troupes de danse celtique, des artistes de cirque, des animateurs historiques, et même des farfadets…

Source : site officiel de la Saint-Patrick à Québec http://saintpatrickquebec.com/external link

Veuillez noter que le défilé passera sur la Grande Allée, juste en face de l’Hôtel Château Laurier Québec.

Une petite excursion?

La saison touristique n’est pas encore débutée, mais toute cette immersion dans la culture celtique pourrait bien vous donner envie de faire une excursion à la Grosse-Île lors de votre prochain séjour dans la région… Faisant partie de l’archipel de L’Isle-aux-Grues, Grosse-Île a servi pendant longtemps de station de quarantaine, particulièrement au plus fort de l’immigration irlandaise, alors que des dizaines de milliers d’immigrants y ont transité.

Il s’agit d’un site géré par Parcs Canada et offrant des visites guidées. On peut notamment y voir le lazaret, le cimetière des Irlandais, une croix celtique d’une quinzaine de mètres de haut, ainsi qu’un mémorial. Il vous faudra environ 50 minutes de voiture pour vous y rendre depuis Québec.

Les bateaux seront en fonction du 2 mai au 8 octobre 2018.

En savoir plus :

Et n’oubliez pas : quelles que soient les activités qui vous intéressent, les concierges de l’Hôtel Château Laurier Québec se feront un plaisir de vous aider à planifier vos déplacements dans la ville ou de vous faire d’autres recommandations. Nous souhaitons vous aider à passer un excellent à Québec nous à l’occasion de la Saint-Patrick!