Meet Sam, Louis, and Carla, our customer service robots

June 8, 2018 -
Le coffre aux trésors d'Hôtel Château Laurier Québec

Our cars help us drive. Our phones answer questions. Our watches encourage us to walk more and monitor our sleep cycle. Every day, we’re assisted by technological tools. But what about meetings and conventions? How is artificial intelligence being used in the tourism industry and what kind of impact will it have in the years to come?

So far, new technologies that incorporate artificial intelligence have been one of the biggest convention trends of 2018.

It’s time to take a serious look at a form of artificial intelligence that’s being made available to our customers with increasing regularity: virtual assistants, or VAs. Virtual assistants are changing the way we travel and are poised to change the way we plan events, as we strive to better meet participants’ rising expectations—particularly where smartphones are concerned.

Robots help streamline the customer  path

Like Amazon’s Alexa and Google Home, Sam, Louis, and Carla are virtual assistants—a form of robot software. They allow users to communicate naturally and on an ongoing basis with the assistant on the other end using a messaging service (like WhatsApp or Messenger) or automated conversation technology (like Google Assistant).

These chatbots are developed specifically for companies in the travel industry: Sam is a smart travel assistant for mobile developed by FCM Travel Solutions, Louis helps Air France customers, and Carla is one of several virtual assistants offered by Carlson Wagonlit Travel (CWT).

The main goal of these VAs is to make life easier for travelers.  In their current state of development, they can only answer frequently asked questions. But they’re expected to grow more intelligent in the near future, able to assist travelers at each step in the consumer path, which includes:

  • Inspiring potential travelers and helping them make decisions about their trip at the outset
  • Helping them plan their trip
  • Providing assistance for booking transportation, accommodation, and related services
  • Improving their travel experience throughout the trip

 

What will the weather be like when they get there? Has the flight time changed? What kind of shuttle service is offered at the airport? Where is the hotel? What are some nearby restaurants? The bots will have the data integration capabilities needed to answer all these questions and more, 24/7. In fact, they will be able to do a lot more, since their ability to learn will make them proactive, allowing them to anticipate questions and suggest solutions to problems.

Virtual assistants are not the only application for artificial intelligence in tourism. There are several others we use daily without even realizing it: for instance, the programs used by online agencies and fare finder websites to continuously find and renegotiate airfares and get the best prices. But whereas those sites can only respond to direct customer queries, virtual assistants remain in contact with our customers all through the day. With their permission, they can access a wealth of data and integrate it in a split second, allowing them to be present, useful, and relevant throughout the entire trip.

Differentiation through hyper-personalization

Pulling up a specific weather report, suggesting you take a taxi to avoid being late to a meeting in your calendar, recommending an Italian restaurant less than a kilometer away from your hotel―the assistance will not be random. All interactions between VA and user will be based on habit, schedule, and personal preference.

In addition to continuously learning from thousands of answers given to other users, virtual assistants will have access to a considerable amount of data from many sources: your file with the travel agency, flight booking, hotel loyalty card, personal and professional digital calendars, and possibly even the activities you select for a convention, published in real time by the convention organizer. Virtual assistants could even use the personal preferences you express online to improve the quality and relevance of their recommendations, including the one for that Italian restaurant.

For conference organizers, the ultimate goal of such hyper‑personalized service is to stand out from competition, build trust-based relationship with travelers, foster loyalty, and turn conference‑goers into brand ambassadors in their personal and professional networks. That explains the current race between several airline companies, hotel groups, travel agencies, and fare aggregators to develop these virtual assistants.

How will artificial intelligence affect our work?

We are still in the early stages of this technological revolution and its impact on customer service. Should we be wary of Sam, Louis, and Clara? What do they mean for us and our work?

Technologies and applications based on artificial intelligence are and will continue to become increasingly present in all areas of our lives. That is why, in the next few years, we expect a rise in the demand for virtual assistants who help users book business trips, make the most of conventions, and discover everything a destination has to offer.

You have to think of virtual assistants as resources you can delegate customer-related tasks to. Their ability to handle basic logistics is often cited as an opportunity to give staff more challenging work, since repetitive and thankless tasks will be delegated to the VA. These technological solutions are a way to free up time and resources for more complex, creative, and profitable assignments, such as developing new products or services adapted to specific clienteles looking for new and exclusive offers.

It seems likely that the high cost of attending international conventions will increasingly need to be justified by the potential for accessing exceptional content or the opportunity to connect with other participants who share common interests in a direct and organized manner. The formula for these events will likely need to change, as attendees seek to shorten their stays. We’ll need to find ways to offer an onsite experience for people who want to attend remotely—one that delivers many of the same benefits as physical attendance, including the possibility of interacting with people at the event.

Virtual assistants depend on the existence and accessibility of big data to function. That’s why we can expect them to evolve over time, potentially providing us with a deeper understanding of our customers’ expectations. Of course, those evolving capabilities will likely raise questions about confidentiality and data security.

Artificial intelligence or emotional intelligence?

The World Economic Forum recently identified artificial intelligence as a key factor for success. The ability to deal with one’s emotions and react to the emotions of others is a fundamentally human trait. In fact, one of the main concerns with virtual assistants is precisely the risk of losing human contact in customer relations.

While communicating information about a room change for a meeting or late start to a session may not necessarily require human intervention, settling a dispute with a supplier or correcting a major mistake that requires an apology and satisfactory resolution will always be better handled by an actual person.

In an industry like tourism, face‑to‑face meetings and interactions will always be a key part of any company’s success. While the use of technology can improve customer service in certain ways, nothing can replace the human contact that alone can create an emotional bond―a connection with the destination, locals, and tourism professionals that everyone tends to seek while traveling.

To that point, Québec City’s human scale and friendly vibe are essential to its success as a tourist destination. The same goes for the welcoming, family feeling you get as soon as you enter the lobby at Hôtel Château Laurier Québec.

MY FAVORITE!

I’m moving! As you read this, I will probably be busy packing boxes to move to a new home. I’m leaving Québec City’s Montcalm neighborhood to settle in St-Roch. I’m very excited about moving to a new neighborhood. There’s always something new happening in St‑Roch, so even though I know the neighborhood well, I’m sure it still has many wonderful surprises in store for me.

St-Roch is overflowing with restaurants, cafés, and independent shops. Care for a few examples?

You can sample different kind of sparkling wines, including several varieties of champagne, at champagne bar La Champagnerie Québec. If you’re looking to saber your first bottle of bubbly, this place is for you. The food is also fantastic and features fresh, local fare.

Cocktails more your thing? Why not take an evening class at Ateliers et saveurs?  The classes can accommodate up to 18 people. You’ll learn to make three cocktails and then enjoy them with three surprise tapas!

Want to bring your children a souvenir from your stay in Québec City? Go to Benjo. Once inside, your only problem will be choosing from all the books, toys, board games, figurines, crafts, dolls, and baby blankets. It’s worth a visit just for the experience.

I look forward to welcoming you to Québec City and running into you in St-Roch in the near future!

Connaissez-vous Sam, Louis et Carla, robots au service de l’expérience client?

8 juin 2018 -
Le coffre aux trésors d'Hôtel Château Laurier Québec

Nos voitures nous assistent dans notre conduite. Nos téléphones répondent à nos questions. Nos montres nous incitent à marcher et surveille notre sommeil. Les outils technologiques sont partout dans notre quotidien. Mais qu’en est-il du secteur du tourisme de congrès et de réunion? Comment l’intelligence artificielle est-elle utilisée et quel sera son impact dans les années à venir?

En 2018, les nouvelles technologies intégrant de l’intelligence artificielle comptent parmi les principales tendances qui influencent notre environnement de travail.

Aussi, j’aimerais réfléchir avec vous sur l’une des applications de l’intelligence artificielle qui est de plus en plus proposée à nos clients, soit l’assistant virtuel. Ces assistants changent la façon de concevoir l’expérience de voyage et changeront sûrement la façon d’offrir des événements afin de mieux répondre aux attentes de participants de plus en plus exigeants et connectés à leur téléphone intelligent.

Des robots pour simplifier le parcours client

À la manière d’Alexa (Amazon) et de Google Home, Sam, Louis et Carla sont des assistants virtuels. Ces logiciels robots permettent de dialoguer avec une personne dans un langage naturel et de façon continue par le biais d’un service de messagerie (comme WhatsApp ou Messenger) ou de conversation automatisée (comme l’Assistant Google).

Ces «chatbots» ont toutefois la caractéristique d’avoir été développés pour les besoins spécifiques d’entreprises associées au secteur du voyage; Sam est un assistant de voyage mobile développé par FCM Travel Solution, Louis est au service des clients d’Air France alors que Carla  est l’une des versions de l’assistant virtuel proposé par Carlson Wagonlit Travel (CWT).

Ces assistants virtuels ont comme principal objectif de simplifier la vie des voyageurs.

L’état actuel de leur développement les confine pour l’instant à répondre à des questions courantes; toutefois, il est prévu qu’à relativement court terme, ces assistants virtuels deviendront de plus en plus «intelligents» et aptes à guider les voyageurs à chacune des grandes étapes de leur parcours de consommation, c’est-à-dire :

  • En inspirant le voyageur potentiel et en l’assistant dans sa prise de décision au tout début de son parcours;
  • En l’aidant dans l’organisation de son voyage;
  • En optimisant ses réservations et ses achats de transports, d’hôtels et de services connexes;
  • En améliorant son expérience de voyage tout au long de son séjour.

Quelle est la température prévue à destination? Est-ce qu’il y a un changement d’horaire du vol réservé? Quels services de navettes sont disponibles à l’aéroport? Où se situe l’hôtel? Quel est le choix de restaurants à proximité? Ces «bots» pourront dorénavant intégrer toutes ces informations et répondre à des questions 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. En fait, ils feront bien plus, car leur capacité d’apprentissage leur permettront d’être proactifs, d’anticiper les questions et de proposer des solutions aux problèmes rencontrés.

Ces assistants virtuels ne sont pas les seules applications de l’intelligence artificielle en tourisme puisqu’il en existe plusieurs qu’on utilise déjà au quotidien sans même en soupçonner l’existence; pensons à ceux employés par les agences en ligne pour trouver et renégocier en continu le meilleur tarif d’un billet d’avion. Ces assistants virtuels ont toutefois la caractéristique d’être en contact direct avec nos clients et, avec leur permission, de pouvoir accéder à une foule de données et les intégrer en quelques fractions de seconde ce qui leur permet d’être présents, utiles et pertinents à toutes les étapes du voyage.

Hyper personnaliser l’offre de services pour se démarquer

Le choix du bulletin météo, la suggestion de prendre un taxi pour éviter d’être en retard à la réunion notée à l’agenda, la proposition d’un restaurant italien à moins d’un kilomètre de l’hôtel ne seront pas le fruit du hasard. Toutes les interactions entre l’assistant virtuel et son utilisateur auront ont été sélectionnées en fonction de ses habitudes, de son horaire et de ses préférences personnelles.

En plus d’apprendre continuellement par l’intermédiaire des milliers de réponses faites aux autres utilisateurs, les assistants virtuels pourront accéder à une quantité imposante d’informations provenant de nombreuses sources : le dossier de l’agence de voyages, la réservation auprès de la compagnie aérienne, la carte de fidélité de l’hôtel, les agendas électroniques personnel et professionnel et éventuellement, le programme personnel des activités choisies et rendu accessibles en temps réel par l’organisateur du congrès. Les choix personnels exprimés en ligne par l’utilisateur et dans ses pages personnelles sur Facebook ou d’autres réseaux sociaux pourront éventuellement contribuer à approfondir la connaissance des préférences de l’utilisateur et ainsi mieux orienter les services offerts, comme le choix du restaurant italien préférablement à d’autres.

Le développement de tels services d’assistance hyper personnalisés a pour objectif ultime de se démarquer de la concurrence, de créer un lien de confiance avec le voyageur, de le fidéliser et d’en faire un ambassadeur auprès de ses réseaux personnels et professionnels. C’est ce qui explique la course actuelle dans le développement de ces assistants virtuels par plusieurs compagnies aériennes, groupes hôteliers, agences de voyages et consolidateurs.

Quelle influence aura l’intelligence artificielle sur notre travail?

Nous sommes encore au début de cette révolution technologique et de son impact sur le service à la clientèle. Doit-on se méfier de Sam, Louis ou Clara? Qu’est-ce que cela implique pour nous et notre travail?

Les technologies et applications qui reposent sur l’intelligence artificielle sont et seront de plus en plus présentes dans toutes les dimensions de notre vie.  On peut donc croire que la demande pour des assistants virtuels qui facilitent les déplacements professionnels, qui optimisent la participation à un congrès ou qui enrichissent le séjour à destination, ira en croissant dans les prochaines années.

Il faut voir les assistants virtuels comme des ressources vers lesquelles on peut déléguer des tâches à remplir auprès de nos clients. Leur capacité à répondre avec exactitude et sans délai à des questions de logistique demandant peu d’expertises spécialisées est souvent mentionnée comme une occasion d’enrichir les tâches du personnel qui sera soulagé de ces interventions répétitives et peu valorisées. Ces solutions technologiques se veulent une façon de libérer du temps et des ressources qui pourront être consacrés à des responsabilités plus complexes, plus créatives et plus rentables pour les organisations, comme celles de développer de nouveaux produits ou d’offrir des services mieux adaptés à des clientèles spécifiques à la recherche de nouveauté et d’exclusivité.

On peut croire, par exemple, que le coût élevé de participation à des congrès internationaux devra de plus en plus se justifier par la possibilité d’accéder à des contenus exceptionnels ou l’opportunité d’entrer en contact direct et planifié avec d’autres participants partageant des intérêts communs. Les formules offertes devront probablement évoluer afin de compenser un temps de présence physique plus court; pensons à une participation à distance tout en conservant les avantages du direct et la possibilité d’interagir avec les gens sur place.

Les capacités des assistants virtuels, qui reposent sur l’existence et l’accessibilité à des mégadonnées (Big Data), évolueront au fil du temps et pourraient nous offrir une connaissance plus approfondie des attentes de nos propres clients. Mais tout cela soulèvera sûrement des questions de confidentialité et de sécurité des informations collectées.

Intelligence artificielle ou intelligence émotionnelle?

Le World Economic Forum identifiait récemment l’intelligence émotionnelle comme un facteur critique de réussite. Cette capacité à bien maîtriser ses émotions et à composer avec celles des autres est essentiellement humaine; aussi, l’une des principales craintes face à l’apparition des assistants virtuels est justement celle de perdre le caractère humain des relations avec la clientèle.

Si la transmission d’informations relatives au changement d’une salle de réunion ou au début retardé d’une conférence ne nécessite pas nécessairement une intervention humaine, le règlement d’un conflit avec un fournisseur ou la correction d’une erreur majeure nécessitant des excuses et un règlement satisfaisant seront toujours mieux servis par une intervention en face à face et de vive voix.

Dans un secteur comme le tourisme, les rencontres et les échanges demeureront toujours au cœur du succès des entreprises. Si le recours à des applications technologiques peut améliorer le service à la clientèle sur certains aspects, il demeure que rien ne pourra remplacer la relation humaine qui seule peut créer ce lien émotif que tout voyageur recherche avec la destination, les gens qui l’habitent et les professionnels du voyage qui croisent son chemin.

C’est d’ailleurs la taille humaine et l’ambiance amicale de Québec qui expliquent son succès. Et il en est de même pour l’Hôtel Château Laurier Québec dont le caractère familial et chaleureux se fait ressentir dès l’accueil.

MON COUP DE CŒUR!

Je déménage! Et lorsque vous lirez ces lignes, je serai probablement occupée à faire des boîtes pour changer de lieu de résidence. Je vais quitter le quartier Montcalm pour m’établir dans le quartier St-Roch. Et je suis très fébrile à l’idée de vivre dans ce nouvel environnement. Bien sûr, je connais déjà les avantages de vivre dans ce quartier toujours en évolution, mais je suis certaine qu’il me réserve encore plein de surprises.

Le quartier St-Roch regorge de restaurants, de cafés et de boutiques originales.  Vous en voulez quelques exemples?

Le bar à bulles La Champagnerie Québec offre la possibilité de goûter à divers vins effervescents dont plusieurs variétés de champagnes. Si vous désirez sabrer votre première bouteille, c’est l’endroit tout désigné. De plus, la cuisine y est de très bonne qualité et sait mettre à l’honneur la fraîcheur des produits régionaux.

Vous êtes plus «cocktails »? En bien pourquoi ne pas suivre un cours en soirée en formule 5@7  chez Ateliers et Saveurs? Les cours accueillent jusqu’à 18 personnes. Vous y apprendrez à réaliser 3 cocktails que vous dégusterez accompagnés de 3 tapas surprises!

Vous désirez rapporter à vos enfants un souvenir de votre passage à Québec ? Je vous suggère d’entrer chez Benjo. Vous aurez un seul problème une fois entré dans cette boutique, faire un choix parmi dans cet univers de livres, de jouets, de jeux de société de toutes sortes, de figurines, d’articles de bricolage, de poupées et doudous pour bébé. Seulement par curiosité, la visite en vaut la peine!

Au plaisir de vous recevoir prochainement à Québec et de vous croiser dans le quartier st-Roch!